Monastery of the Victory
It features a church that dates back to the first third of the 18th century which was built to a scheme similar to those used in certain branches of Italian Baroque.
Since 1884, the congregation of Tertiary Nuns founded by the Antequera-born Madre Carmen del Niño Jesús has occupied the building, which was abandoned by the Minimalist Brothers as a consequence of the Disentailment.
The ground plan and projection of this church, built between 1712 and 1718, are fascinating, such examples being extremely rare in Antequera’s religious architecture.
The exterior, which is built from stone blocks, has a highly secular air, while inside, the central ground plan is of a complexity that did not become commonplace in Spanish architecture until well into the 18th century.
The nave is an unequal-sided octagon, creating an elongated space that is articulated by a main chapel of hexagonal ground plan decorated with plasterwork and featuring a Neoclassical altarpiece.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Jesús Romero Benîtez, Guîa Artîstica de Antequera