Small temple of Los Galvez
Small brick pavilion made up of two square parts erected at the end of the 17th century to the memory of the Galvez family and their donations. In this temple or shrine the common people call "Calvary", because it was where they made the Way of the Cross (Via Crucis) at Easter.
Its origin dates back to late 1785 when Miguel de Galvez reaches Macharaviaya seeking rest and tranquility, after an illness that kept him away from his occupations in court. During the eighty days it took to recover he conducted a series of urgent reforms, among which was the water supply, for which he built three public fountains, who designed the architect Manuel del Castillo, a public shed washing site and a butcher, besides to pave the streets, pavement currently held in the historic part of the village.
To immortalize the importance of these works he commanded the so-called “Humilladero” to the entrance of the village, with influence of Roman memorials.
How to get there
Discover more about the province of Malaga
- Discover more about the province of Malaga