This web page uses its own cookies and the third-party cookies to collect the information which help us make the service as good as possible. By no means is our intention to use it for gathering personal data.

More information Cookies policy

Lighthouse of Torrox (Unique Site)

Diputación de Málaga
Faro de Torrox (Rincón Singular)

Lighthouse of Torrox (Unique Site)

Monuments and Art > The Tower and The Fortified Building

 

Recommended month to visit it: July.

In the tip of Torrox, on a small outcrop jutting out to the sea, we find a Lighthouse that was first lit up in 1864. It has a 23 metres tall cylinder stonework tower, nowadays painted in white, crowned by a double gallery lamp.

In 1905, the lighthouse keeper, Tomás García Ruiz, a person with a great curiosity and some archaeological knowledge, considered excavation the surroundings. Thanks to his work we know have proof of the existence of the Roman villa of Clavicum and the salting factory associated to it, later used as a necropolis. There have also been found the remains of some baths and a pottery complex destined to the making of amphorae for the packaging of the salting.

The Lighthouse of Torrox is the only one of public use, as it was given up to the town for cultural use: it holds a sea-life museum.

 

Coordinates:
  • Lighthouse of Torrox: 414518 / 4064954
  • Salting factory and necropolis (Factoría de salazones y necrópolis): 414433 / 4065018

How to get there

More information

Discover more about the province of Malaga

Discover more about the province of Malaga