Hermitage of Virgen de la Peña
It was excavated from living rock by monks of the Merced order in 1548. Inside, it houses the image of Mijas’ patron saint after which it is named. In the town itself, tradition has it that the image was discovered in 1586 in the walls of the old castle, where it had been hidden to avoid it falling into Moorish hands eight centuries earlier.
How to get there
Discover more about the province of Malaga
- Discover more about the province of Malaga