Although there are earlier references to other mechanisms of light, is in the 19th century when the lantern is constructed in its current location, according to the plans of the engineer Joaquin Maria Pery.
Work began in 1816 and was completed a year later, in times of Ferdinand the 7th. In 1885 the building was renovated because the earthquake that shook the city in 1884 left headlight mechanisms inoperative, being necessary to provide it with a new light apparatus, and a tower of about 4 meters above the tower.
In the past century, the existing home were expanded in 1909, adding another floor and new mechanisms of optics were renovated in 1913, fixing in 31 flashes the functioning of the mechanism, which is preserved today. In this work the Engineer Mauro Serret were involved in the calculations and the German house Julius Pintch in the mechanized.
In May 1916 it was set up a base plated mercury float made in Madrid by the Spanish Society of Structural Steelwork.
During the Civil War, the lighthouse went out in August 28th, 1936, following the orders of the Navy, still under the command of the Republic as its silhouette served as a reference to the naval artillery and aviation the rebel army.
The Central Committee of the Republican Fleet ordered the earth-colored paint with light and dark spots for camouflage. Despite this, was badly damaged during the war because of which had to be rebuilt in 1939.
In the late twentieth century, due to the redevelopment of the port area, the lighthouse has been located in the middle of it.
How to get there
Discover more about the province of Malaga
- Discover more about the province of Malaga