Esta web utiliza cookies para obtener datos anónimos de acceso. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas nuestra política de cookies.

×

Lighthouse of Torrox (Unique Site)

Diputación de Málaga

Lighthouse of Torrox (Unique Site)

Unique Corners

 

Recommended month to visit it: July.

In the tip of Torrox, on a small outcrop jutting out to the sea, we find a Lighthouse that was first lit up in 1864. It has a 23 metres tall cylinder stonework tower, nowadays painted in white, crowned by a double gallery lamp.

In 1905, the lighthouse keeper, Tomás García Ruiz, a person with a great curiosity and some archaeological knowledge, considered excavation the surroundings. Thanks to his work we know have proof of the existence of the Roman villa of Clavicum and the salting factory associated to it, later used as a necropolis. There have also been found the remains of some baths and a pottery complex destined to the making of amphorae for the packaging of the salting.

The Lighthouse of Torrox is the only one of public use, as it was given up to the town for cultural use: it holds a sea-life museum.

 

Coordinates:
  • Lighthouse of Torrox: 414518 / 4064954
  • Salting factory and necropolis (Factoría de salazones y necrópolis): 414433 / 4065018

Monuments and Art > The Tower and The Fortified Building