During the sixteenth century, after the Christian conquest, the repopulation of the town built the church of Los Remedios, with its tower square and simple appearance, similar to the defensive towers. On the south side of the tower a sundial, which, since then, marks the passage of time for stands of Estepona. In the early eighteenth century added neoclassical bell tower, decorated with ceramic elements. The 1755 earthquake caused the ruin and subsequent demolition of the church, being thereafter the tower. In the early twentieth century, a stunning interior clock, with bell ringing, continues to set the pace of time on the streets of the old town is placed.